Image

Well it’s official! I’m all settled into my dorm, my classes and my new life in Providence, RI 02903. Check out what has been keeping me busy the past week!

 

Image

Newport Hall of Fame Tournament
This weekend our team ventured down to Newport Beach (about an hour away) to compete in the Newport Hall of Fame Doubles Tournament. This was the first tournament I played on grass tennis courts. It was really fun learning how to play on a new surface and finding various advantages while playing points. My doubles partner and I made it to the semi-final match where we lost 9-7. 

The tournament site is also home to a professional tournament each year as well as the International Tennis Hall of Fame Museum. There is nothing like looking back at players that shaped the history of the sport and pushed boundaries. It was incredible to take a trip back in history to admire players I have been inspired by.

 

Image

WaterFire
WaterFire is a culture event completely unique to Providence. There is a river that runs through the beautiful city and on each Saturday night, fires are lit along the middle of the river. The goal is to inspire Providence and its visitors, revitalize the urban experience, foster community engagement, and creatively transform the city. So if you ever find yourself in Providence, it is a must-see!

 

Image

Six Flags
As a part of the welcome week festivities, students had the opportunity to travel to Six Flags New England! As a rollercoaster junkie, I jumped on this opportunity and took on the parks biggest and baddest rides. It was easily my favorite part of welcome week! A big thank you to UIB Campus Events for making the event possible!

 

Image

Newport Cliff Walk
To celebrate the last day of preseason, some of the girls on the tennis team and I went to the beach for a little rest and relaxation. After being rejuvenated by the waves we explored the Newport Cliff Walk, a beautiful walk along the coast. It was one of those things that takes your breathe away and makes you appreciate how beautiful the world is.

 

Image

First Week of Classes
After 3 weeks of preseason tennis, I almost forgot what I was actually going to school for, an education! Last week was the first week of classes at Johnson and Wales. This term I have four classes: Intro to Technology for Business Professionals, Honors 20th Century Literature, Law in Business and Principles of Marketing. Each of them will present their own challenges, but it is exciting to be back in school after my year off with DECA.

I can’t wait to share more adventures from this new zipcode, stay posted!

