2013rocked

I have to say, 2013 must have been my favorite year yet. It’s crazy to look back on where I was last year at this time and where I am now. It didn’t turn out how I predicted, but each experience brought new blessings.

Image

1. DECA

2013 was the year of DECA for me. My year serving as National President brought me tons of opportunities, challenges, laughs, and memories. I have grown more in a single year and I can credit my DECA experience for that growth. This role also brought me many new and wonderful friendships. My officer team became my family and the officers from around the country I had the privilege to work with are among some of my closest friends. I am so grateful for this experience and it was incredible to see the impact of hard work and dedicated team members striving towards a common goal.

Image

2. Sundog Internship

After coming off such a high with leading DECA, I wasn’t sure what I was going to do next. I interviewed for a Summer Internship Position at Sundog and was hired.  Sundog was a blessing and perfect fit for moving from one opportunity to another just before beginning my freshman year at college. I was welcomed into the Sundog company culture with enthusiasm, encouragement. I got to work on projects that I was passionate about in the marketing and technology fields. As I loved the work experience, the people that made this internship rock. Looking back, my favorite times at Sundog were when I got to take people out to lunch or sit down one on one with them and learn about their story.

Image

3.Summer at the lake

Relaxing at the lake was the best way to spend my summer before college. I very much embraced my time soaking up the sun, napping on the dock, and exploring in the kayak. This summer reminded me this year it’s ok to slow down, enjoy life and keep things simple.

Image

4. Cross-country road trip

Sophie and my dad took the 1,600-road trip to drop me off at college in Providence. Even though it was by far the most time I’ve spent in a car; it was a blast. We made fun stops along the way taking in a Broadway Show in NYC, spending the night in a historic bed and breakfast in Madison, WI and Cleveland, OH. It also created some good sister bonding time before my college journey began.

Image

5. College Tennis

Playing tennis was the best decision I’ve made during my college experience. It was a great opportunity to meet friends and play my favorite sport competitively. It also kept me very engaged during the first couple months of school. Our team found great success placing 2nd in the Great Northeastern Athletic Conference and my doubles partner and I received all-conference honors for our undefeated season.

Image

6. Going away for college

I was not so sure about being so far away from home for college, but looking back, it was a great decision. I found this experience pushed me outside my comfort zone and challenged me to meet new people, find new adventures and start fresh. It showed me that the world is a great big place and that there is more opportunity than within a 50-mile radius of my hometown.

Image

7. Coming home for break

And even though I loved college, there really is no place like home. The further away you are, the more I think you come to appreciate how special it really is. I will always love coming home to see my family and wonderful friends here.

I cannot wait to see what the next year brings, cheers to a great 2014!

